2018 MOT changes - what you need to know

Did you know that on the 20th May 2018, some changes have been made to the MOT test?

The changes affect not just cars, but vans, motorcycles and other light passenger vehicles too.

1. The biggest change is the categorisation of faults

Previously there were just pass, fail or advisory. There will now be additional categories to determine whether a vehicle will fail or pass: Dangerous, Major, Minor, Advisory and Pass

2. There are stricter rules for Diesel car emissions

3. Some new things are included in the MOT

This includes reversing lights, tyre pressure, fluid leaks and more.

4. The MOT certificate will change

This is to make it clearer and easier to understand, so that any defects are clearly listed.

For a full list of the changes to the MOT, click here.
If you are thinking about changing or upgrading your car, Zuto can help with that. Try our car finance calculator to work out your budget.

Arrange a call back

Opening hours:
9am to 8pm Monday - Friday
9am to 6pm Saturday
10am to 6pm Sunday and Bank Holidays